St. George Catholic Church

Maronite Rite

The Maronite Church

The Maronite Church dates back to the early Christians of Antioch where "they were called Christians for the first time" (Acts 11:26). She still uses as Her liturgical languate, Syriac, a dialect of the Aramaic that Jesus Himself spoke, and takes Her name from the hermit-priest, Saint Maron, who died in 410 AD.

Eastern Catholic Churches

There are six major traditions of the Catholic Church:

1. Alexanrian

2. Antiochene

3. Armenian

4. Chaldean

5. Constantinopolitan (Byzantine)

6. Latin (Roman)


Each Catholic Church practices a common faith according to one of the six major traditions. The Maronite Church follows the Antiochene Tradition.


All Catholics believe the same truths of the faith yet worship differently. Each Church embraces its own culture and tradition to express Her faith in Jesus the Risen Lord.

The Catholic Church

The Catholic Church, comprised of twenty-one Eastern Churches and one Western Church, is a communion of Churches, with the Pope as the visible head, "gathered in the one spirit, breathing as though with two lungs -- of the east and of the west -- burning with the love of Christ in one heart -- having two ventricles" (Sacri Canones; Pope John Paul II).


One of the Eastern Catholic Churches is the Maronite Church.  She has Her own hierarchy composed of a Patriarch who is Her father and head, and over forty Bishops who shepherd many Eparchies (Dioceses) in Lebanon, the Middle East and throughout the world.  The Patriarch governs the Church in a synodal manner with his body of bishops as is customary in the Eastern Churches.